Hercules A

Hercules A
Radio-Optical View of the Galaxy Hercules A - Many thanks to: NASA, ESA, S. Baum and C. O'Dea (RIT), R. Perley and W. Cotton (NRAO/AUI/NSF), and the Hubble Heritage Team (STScI/AURA)

Friday, June 13, 2014

Poland will build 3 LOFAR stations


"...ASTRON and the Polish LOFAR consortium POLFAR signed a contract for the construction of three new antenna stations for the International LOFAR Telescope (ILT) in the north, west and south of Poland. Signing of the contract took place at the University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn in Poland in the presence of representatives of ASTRON, the Polish Ministry of Science and Higher Education and local governments, and representatives of the Polish astronomical and space sciences communities..."

"...At the end of 2013, POLFAR received a grant from the Polish Minister of Science and Higher Education for the construction and equipment of three international LOFAR stations as part of their national research infrastructure investment. The new LOFAR stations will be located in Łazy (in southern Poland, operated by the Jagiellonian University in Krakow), Bałdy (in northern Poland, operated by the University of Warmia and Mazury in Olsztyn), and Borówiec (in western Poland, operated by the Space Research Centre of the Polish Academy of Sciences). The formal agreement between the POLFAR consortium and ASTRON now marks the start of the preparations for the roll-out of these new stations..."

"...representatives of POLFAR and ASTRON at the LOFAR signing ceremony: Prof. Jerzy Jaroszewski (Vice Rector for Research of University of Warmia and Mazury), Prof. Andrzey Krankowski (University of Warmia and Mazury), Prof. Katarzyna Otmianowska-Mazur (coordinator of POLFAR, Astronomical Observatory of the Jagiellonian University), Dr. Marian Soida (Vice Director of the Astronomical Observatory of the Jagiellonian University in Kraków), Ronald Halfwerk (Director of AstroTec Holding, ASTRON), Ass. Prof. Hanna Rothkaehl (Space Research Center of Polish Academy of Sciences in Warszawa), Rene Vermeulen (Director of the ILT, ASTRON), Dr. Krzysztof Chyży (Astronomical Observatory of the Jagiellonian University) and Ass. Prof. Ewa Szuszkiewicz (Head of the Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics of the Szczecin University)..."